top of page

Super Awesome People: Entry #12

Someday you will be faced with the reality of loss. …It’s like badly breaking an ankle that never heals perfectly, and that still hurts when you dance, but you dance anyway with a slight limp, and this limp just adds to the depth of your performance and the authenticity of your character. Christopher Walken On a not-as-warm-as-we-hoped-it-would-be fall Friday, Eagle Eye and I took a beautiful road trip to Haliburton to celebrate the marriage of two friends. The affair itself was warm and intimate and, oddly enough, wouldn’t have been complete without a nighttime wander into the woods to hear a pack of wolves howl. It sounded nothing like the movies had led me to believe and it was a truly magical experience. But in truth it isn’t the wolves, bubbles, sunflowers, ravens, trees, falling leaves, good food, and great company that I will remember the most. It was this one little girl, in her whimsical white skirt and kitten sweater that reminded me to find the inner dreamer I had lost, who made the greatest impact.

She reminded me that it doesn’t matter what other people think. She reminded me to live in the moment. She reminded me to look up at the stars and make ALL the wishes even if they may not come true. She reminded me to dream a new dream even if I don’t feel that I can. She taught me that there is so much to learn from those who have lived less years on this planet. Some super awesome people do super amazing things even when they don’t know they’re doing it. This one little girl inspired me to dance whenever I want to, even if it hurts sometimes. So now, the girl who used to dance barefoot in the rain on warm summer days is back, and she’d like to thank that super awesome girl in the whimsical white skirt and kitten sweater for reminding her that she still existed.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page