top of page

Super Awesome People: Entry #10

Everything Is Better With Gus

This guy makes me happy and he doesn’t even have to do anything super amazing, because he’s just naturally super awesome. There’s nothing forced or fake about his actions; when he’s happy to see you, he shows it; when he wants a bite of your hamburger, his puppy dog eyes tell you; when he’s worried that you’re leaving and never ever coming back, just look back at those perked ears and know that he's already missing you.

Everything is better with Gus. Seriously, everything! Even waiting while he sniffs every single thrown bocce ball, probably still wondering why he wasn't supposed to bring it back to the human that threw it. Who was in a rush, we were camping?!

Watching him slowly collect a large pile of sticks added a little extra entertainment to the day, especially since in doing so his rope would inevitably wrap around every chair, tent, or tree within an eight foot radius. I think that after a few days Gus was either very full or realized that there was an endless supply available to him and stopped adding to the pile he was saving for later.

But I think my favourite thing was when, without solicitation, he came over and chose my feet to sleep on for a bit. It wasn’t because he warmed my feet, it was because he made me feel loved. Out of all the people sitting around the campsite it was my turn for a foot cuddle.

If you ever need some cheering up, I recommend visiting Gus. Without a doubt, you’ll leave feeling better every time!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page